Product has been added to the basket


Each year The Petroleum Group makes awards in recognition of achievements and talent of individuals within the oil exploration sector.

 PG Dinner 2016

These prestigious medals are awarded at the Petroleum Group's Annual Dinner held at the Natural History Museum, which is one of the most well attended events of the Petroleum sector calendar

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented relatively infrequently by the Petroleum Group; it reflects a consistent and  outstanding level of achievement in Petroleum Geoscience and related areas.

Petroleum Group Medal Award

The Petroleum Group Medal (formerly Silver Medal) is an annual award presented to individuals with a geoscience background who have made outstanding contributions to the petroleum industry. It can be awarded for excellence in petroleum geoscience and/or management of oil-finding activities.

Young Petroleum Geoscientist Award

The Petroleum Group makes an award each year to recognise young talent, the future of our industry, through the Young Petroleum Geoscientist Award. Nominees should be under 35 and either have already made a significant contribution to the understanding of petroleum geoscience or be an emerging talent who is making a significant impact in the field.

All nominees are mentioned in the Petroleum Group E-Newsletter

Past Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement

2014 Richard Hardman

Petroleum Group Medal 

2016 Gro Haatvedt
2015 Alastair Fraser
2014 Mike Daly

Silver Medal

2013 Peter Rose
2012 John Underhill
2011 Malcolm Brown
2010 Joe Cartwright
2009 Bruce Levell
2008 Tony Hayward
2007 Tony Dore
2006 Roy Franklin OBE
2005 Mike Watts
2004 Alan Booth
2003 Dick Selley
2002 Richard Hardman
2001 Harold Reading
2000 Ken Glennie
1999 David Roberts
1998 John Martin
1997 Robert Stoneley
1996 Malcolm Pattinson
1995 John Brooks
1994 Nigel Anstey
1993 Ian Maycock
1992 Myles Bowen
1991 Victor Colter

Young Petroleum Geoscientist of the Year

2016 Benjamin Taylor
2015 Ceri Griffith-Swain
2014 Mehdi Yusifov
2013 Fiona Fairhurst

Young Explorer

2011 David Fisher
2010 David Jones
2009 Barnaby Roome
2008 Jeremy Lynch
2007 Kristan Reimann
2006 Bryan Ritchie
2005 John Smallwood
2004 Mark Dalrymple
2003 Simon Stewart

Nomination Forms for the 2017 Petroleum Group Awards