Product has been added to the basket


The Society is governed by a Council of 23 members, including the President, up to three Vice-Presidents and four honorary secretaries. Council members are elected by the Fellowship.

Council is chaired by the President, who is elected for a two-year term. It meets five times each year.

All members of Council are bound by the Society’s Declarations of Interests policy.

Members of Council 2016/2017

Click on the pictures below to read a short biography of each member of Council.

Malcolm BrownMr Malcolm Brown


Expertise: Petroleum Geology


Rick BrassingtonMr Rick Brassington

Expertise: Hydrogeology



Jason Canning_councilDr Jason Canning

Expertise: Petroleum Geology




Liv CarrollMiss Liv Carroll

Secretary, Professional Matters 

Expertise: Mineral Exploration and Mining


Nigel CassidyDr Nigel Cassidy

Expertise: Geophysics



Chris EcclesMr Chris Eccles

Vice President, Chartership

Expertise: Engineering Geology


Marie EdmondsDr Marie Edmonds

Secretary, Science

Expertise: Igneous Petrology, Volcanology and Geochemistry


Graham Goffey Mr Graham Goffey


Expertise: Petroleum Geology


Sarah Gordon_councilDr Sarah Gordon

Expertise:Mining, Meteoritics, Risk




Tricia Henton Mrs Tricia Henton

Diversity Champion

Expertise: Environmental Geology


David HopkinsMr David Hopkins

Expertise: Extractive Industries



Naomi Jordan_council

Ms Naomi Jordan

Expertise: Sedimentology, Palaeontology, Palaeoenvironments




Robert Larter_councilDr Robert Larter

Expertise: Marine Geophysics



Jennifer McKinleyDr Jennifer McKinley

Expertise: Geographical Information Science and Geostatistics



David NorburyProf David Norbury

Expertise: Engineering Geology



Colin NorthDr Colin North

Secretary, Publications

Expertise: Sedimentology


Sheila Peacock_councilDr Sheila Peacock

Expertise: Geophysics




Christine PeirceProf Christine Peirce

Expertise: Marine Geophysics



Nik Reynolds_councilMr Nicholas Reynolds

Expertise: Contaminated Land, Geotechnical Engineering




Katherine RoyseDr Katherine Royse

Expertise: Environmental Geology



Kevin Seymour_CouncilMr Keith Seymour

Vice President, Regional Groups

Expertise: Hydrogeology


Alex Whittaker_councilDr Alexander Whittaker

Expertise: Tectonics and Landscape Dynamics




Michael YoungMr Michael Young

Secretary, Foreign & External Affairs

Expertise: Geophysics


Read a summary of Council members' expertise and backgrounds

Council Meetings

Council Meetings 2016/2017:

  • 22 June 2016
  • 20 - 21 September 2016 (residential)
  • 24 November 2016
  • 1 February 2017
  • 4 - 5 April 2017 (residential)

Council Meeting Minutes: